Entry Information



Entries for the Elite Road National Championships will be open on 1 November 2016 and will close on 12th December 2016.  Click here to enter.

Early Entry Fee - $70 [For entries received by 30 November 2016]

Entry Fee - $90 [For entries received from 1 December – 12th December 2016]

Scratchings received before 12th December may be eligible for a refunds upon presentation of a medical certificate. Requests are to be emailed to Graeme Bell gabell@xtra.co.nz and if accepted, a refund of the entry fee less $20 will be payable.

Scratchings received after 12th December, the team manager is to supply a written explanation and/or medical certificate to the Commissaires Secretary, Graeme Bell at gabell@xtra.co.nz Sanctions will be imposed if the explanation is not accepted.

Entries details for the Flying Lap and Gran Fondo will be available soon.

Entry Eligibility & Criteria

Click here to view the entry eligibility and criteria

Entry Waiver

Click here to view a copy of the event entry waiver

Traffic Design Group Flying Lap – Friday 6 January 2017

This is your chance as a club rider ride the same Time Trial course as the Elite Riders with a flying lap starting at 9.00am. Limited to 30 riders.  Riders will start at 1 minute intervals. There will be a cash prizes available for the fastest time and the rider closest to Event Manager “estimate” time, plus other prizes available. 

Cost is just $10. Open to non-club riders.

Entry details coming soon.


Tineli Gran Fondo – Saturday 7 January 2017

This is your chance as a club rider to ride the same Road Race course as the Elite rider.  Join the Ramblers Cycling Club on this Saturday morning ride.  A Cycling New Zealand Club licence is required. More Details to come!

Entry details coming soon.


Thursday 5th January 2017 
Registration/Managers Meetings - Church Road Winery

5.00pm - 6.00pm Registration (Riders Pack Pickup)
6.00pm - 6.30pm Managers Meeting
6.30pm - 7.00pm Moto, Photographers, Drivers and Police Meeting
7.00pm - 8.00pm Commissaires Meeting 

Friday 6th January 2017
Time Trials - Church Rd Winery
Approx Start times.  
Will be confirmed when entries have closed

10.00am Elite & U23 Women TT
10.30am U23 Men TT
11.00am Elite Men TT

12.30pm Medal Presentation (approx) -  Will take place as soon as possible after final finisher

Saturday 7th January 2017
Women's  Road Race - Marine Parade

10:00am  Elite & U23 Women’s RR
2.00pm Medal Presentation (approx) -  Will take place as soon as possible after final finisher

Sunday 8th January 2017 
Men’s & U23 Road Race - Marine Parade 

9.00am Elite & U23 Men RR
2.00pm Medal Presentation  (approx) -  Will take place as soon as possible after final finisher

The Course

Click here for parking instructions for both Time Trial and Road Race.

Elite Time Trial

Time Trial Course and Event Information

Church Rd Time Trial

See Map here

Location: Church Road Winery
Date: Friday 6 January 2017
Distance: Elite and Under 23 Women 20km, Elite and Under 23 Men 40km
Approx. Start times:
10.00am Elite and under 23 Women
10.30am Under 23 Men
11.00am Elite Men

Click here for Course Description:

All riders are permitted to have a support vehicle with the following rules applying:

• All people in the vehicle must hold a current Cycling New Zealand New Zealand licence
• Per NZTA regulations - All vehicles must contain a approved flashing beacon on the left hand side of the car (NB official cars will have their lights on the right hand side)(self supplied).
• All drivers and passengers must be wearing Hi Viz vests (self supplied)
• Cars must also display the rider number of the rider they are supporting.
• Final and ultimate decision on support vehicles lies with the Chief Commissaires.


Elite Road Race

See Rural Circuit Here

See City Circuit Here

Location: Hog's Breath Cafe Napier opposite War Memorial Conference Centre – Marine Parade 

Date: Saturday 7 January – Sunday 8 January 2017
Distance: Elite and Under 23 Women 112km, Elite and Under 23 Men 169km (includes neutralise distance of 7km)
Start times:
Saturday 7 January
10.00am Elite Women and Under 23 Women
Sunday 8 January
9.00am Elite and Under 23 Men

Click here for the full Course Description

There are two official viewing areas. We encourage spectators to watch the riders climb the hospital hill near the Botanical gardens or at the start/finish line on the Marine Parade.

Feed Stations
Rural Circuit – Top of Apley Road at approx. 56km (for Elite and U23 men only). Good parking available.

City Circuit - Shakespeare Road – Note feeding is on the left hand side of the road. Support vehicle must enter from the North and park up hill- may park on the right hand side.

Feeding will not be allowed on the last time riders pass through the feeding zone which is approx. 10km to the finish.

Fulton Hogan KOM and Sprint Primes

The first KOM is approx. 32Km at the top of the Staircase in Puketitiri Rd, the Elite & U23 Men get a 2nd chance when they complete the Apley circuit a 2nd time and is at approx. 58km. The Final KOM is on the 2nd climb of Hospital hill by the Botanical Gardens at approx. 67km for the Women and 93km Elite & U23 Men.

Sprint Primes
The first sprint prime is approx. 21km on Dartmoor Road the Elite & U23 Men get a 2nd chance when they complete the Apley circuit a 2nd time and is at approx. 47km. Final sprint prime is on the start/finish line on the third lap at approx. 82km Elite Women and 108km Elite & U23 Men.

Points will be allocated as follows for both Primes:
1st 5 points
2nd 3 points
3rd 2 points
4th 1 point

The winner of Sprint Prime and KOM will be the rider with the most aggregate points. In the event of a tie the winner will be based on the last Sprint Prime. A sign will indicate 200m to a Sprint or KOM.


Event Information


Cycling New Zealand Road & Track Racing Rules - Click here

UCI Racing Rules - Click here


Communique 1. Click here.


Cycling New Zealand would like to acknowledge the following Commissaires who have been appointed to officiate at the event. 

Chief Commissaire - Road Race
Mike Sim

Chief Commissaire - Time Trial
Shannon Rafferty

Technical Delegate
Mark Ireland

Technical Advisor
Zac Prendergast 

Commissaire's Secretary
Graeme Bell

Time Keeper/Judge
Heather Smythe

Moto Commissaire
Paul Dahl
Robin Wood 

Assistant Commissaire's
Stephen Holdsworth
Steve Hurring
Erin Criglington
Steve Watson